New Years After Season Sale! Deeply discounted! Ends Jan 31.

Countdown to the New Year!

00Days

00Hours

00Minutes

00Seconds

Fireworks Shipping & Selling Season

IMPORTANT NOTICE!

Retail Customers can only receive products during their state’s designated Fireworks Selling Season. Wholesalers can receive products any time of the year. Retailers/Wholesalers must be aware of what type of fireworks are able to be used/sold in their state or local jurisdiction. This is a general overview of state by state laws. Please do your due diligence and check with your local authority having jurisdiction.

 

 

Alabama

ALABAMA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted Items that comply with regulations of the CPSC,

DOT definitions and trick noisemakers.

Specifically prohibited Manufacture, possession, sale or use of “illegal ground salutes,” fireworks containing more than 2 grains of explosive composition; any mail-order fireworks. Selling period June 20-July 10 and December 15-January 2 Sales from tents or motor vehicles are prohibited.

Age of purchase 16 years, unless accompanied by an adult.

Alabama Fireworks Laws

ALASKA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified).

Specifically prohibited All fireworks that are not defined as salable consumer fireworks.

Age to purchase 18 years of age

Alaska Fireworks Laws

ARIZONA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted May 20 –July 6 Ground based sparkling devices including fountains Dec. 10 – Jan. 3 multiple tube cake devices, illuminating torches, wheels, and ground spinners

 

Specifically permitted year round Sparklers, smoker devices, and novelty devices as defined in APA Std. 87-1 2001 edition.

 

Specifically prohibited Aerial consumer fireworks, bottle & sky rockets, helicopters, torpedoes, roman candles & jumping jacks.

Arizona Fireworks Laws

ARKANSAS

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified.)

Selling period

June 20-July 10 and December 10-January 5

(Snakes and sparklers are permitted all year.)

Age to purchase

12 years

Arkansas Fireworks Laws

CALIFORNIA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Per APA Std. 87-1, the following items are permitted: ground & hand-held sparkling devices, cylindrical & cone fountains, wheel & ground spinners, illuminating torch, flitter sparklers (morning glory) not exceeding 10” in length or ¼” in diameter, toy smoke device, party poppers and snappers. Fireworks for sale must appear on the approved list issued annually by the SFM office. Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, rockets, roman candles, chasers, all wire & wooden stick sparklers, surprise items, friction items, torpedoes, firework kits, and fireworks containing arsenic, phosphorus, thiocyanates magnesium (magnesium-aluminum alloys permitted ), mercury salts, picrates or picric acid, gallates or gallic acid, chlorates (with few excepts), boron, titanium (except particle sizes larger than 100 mesh), zirconium, gunpowder, and fireworks kits.

 

Selling period Noon, June 28, through noon, July 6.

Age to purchase 16 years of age

Age to sell 18 years of age

California Fireworks Laws

COLORADO

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Cylindrical and cone fountains, ground spinners, torches and colored fire, dipped sticks and sparklers, snakes and glow worms, trick noisemakers, and certain other novelties. These items are subject to size and chemical composition limitations.

 

Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, aerial devices, audible ground devices, and any fireworks not specifically permitted.

 

Age of purchase 16 years of age

Colorado Fireworks Laws

CONNECTICUT

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Hand-held and ground based sparkling devices that are non-explosive and non-aerial, and do not contain more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item.

Specifically prohibited All other consumer fireworks including multiple tube sparkling devices that exceed 100 grams of total pyrotechnic composition. Novelty items are illegal.

 

Age of purchase 16 years

Connecticut Fireworks Laws

DELAWARE

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Wood stick and wire sparklers with no more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition; other hand-held or ground-based sparkling devices which are non-explosive and non-aerial, which may produce a crackling or whistling effect, and which contain 75 grams or less of pyrotechnic composition per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tubes; snakes, glow worms and smoke devices which contain 20 grams or less of pyrotechnic composition; trick noisemakers, which include party poppers, snappers and drop pops, each containing 16 mg or less of pyrotechnic composition.

 

Specifically prohibited All consumer fireworks not specifically permitted including firecrackers, torpedoes, sky rockets, Roman candles, daygo bombs and aerial shell devices.

 

Age to purchase: 18 years of age or older.

 

Sale and use period: 30 day period prior to July 4th and 30 day period prior to December 31. Retail sale and storage must comply with the requirements set forth in NFPA 1124, 2006 edition.

Delaware Fireworks Laws

FLORIDA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Devices approved and listed by State Fire Marshal which emit a shower of sparks upon burning, do not contain any explosive compounds, do not detonate or explode, are handheld or ground based, cannot propel themselves through the air, and contain no more than 100 grams of the chemical compound that produces sparks upon burning. Any device that is not included in the list of approved items is prohibited, except that snakes, smoke devices, trick noisemakers, party poppers, booby traps, snappers, trick matches. cigarette load, and auto burglar alarms, each of which are subject to size limitations and may be sold at all times.

 

Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, and any fireworks containing explosive or flammable compounds.

Florida Fireworks Laws

GEORGIA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted All consumer fireworks meeting CPSC criteria as defined in 16 C.F.R. Parts 1500 and 1507, 49 CFR Part 172, and the APA 87-1 (2001 ed.); Roman Candles; wire or wood sparklers of 100 grams or less of mixture per item; other sparkling items which are non explosive and non aerial and contain 75 grams or less of chemical compound per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tubes; snake and glow worms; smoke devices; or trick noise makers which include paper streamers, party poppers, string poppers, snappers, and drop props each consisting of 0.25 grains or less of explosive mixture.

 

Specifically prohibited “[B]balloon, bag, parachute, or other similar device which requires fire underneath for propulsion or to release or cause to be released any floating water lantern or wish lantern which uses a flame to create a lighting effect in any public waterway, lake, pond, stream, or river.”

 

Age to purchase

18 years old

Georgia Fireworks Laws

HAWAII

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Items that comply with regulations of CPSC and DOT definitions. Permit required for each 5,000 individual units of firecrackers.
 

Specifically prohibited Aerial fireworks such as, bottle rockets, sky rockets, missile-type rockets, helicopters, torpedoes, daygo bombs, roman candles, flying pigs, and jumping jacks, which move about the ground farther than inside a circle with a radius of twelve feet as measured from the point where the item was placed and ignited, aerial shells and mines.


 

Age of purchase

18 years

Age to sell

18 years

Limitations on selling

Consumer fireworks cannot be sold after:

12:01 a.m. on New Year’s day

6:00 p.m. on Chinese New Year’s Day

8:00 p.m. on July 4th.

 

Limitations on purchasing

Purchase of consumer fireworks can only occur within 5 days of New Years, Chinese New Years, July 4th, or a culture event for which a permit has been obtained.

Hawaii Fireworks Laws

IDAHO

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Non-aerial fireworks devices, such as ground spinners, fountains, sparklers, smoke devices, or snakes.

 

Specifically prohibited Any fireworks not specifically permitted, such as firecrackers, jumping jacks, or similar products.


 

Selling period Midnight, June 23 through midnight, July 5;

Midnight December 26 through midnight

January 1; local jurisdictions may extend the

period by five days.

Idaho Fireworks Laws

ILLINOIS

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted fireworks Novelty items including snakes or glow worms; smoke devices; trick noisemakers known as ‘party poppers’, ‘booby traps’, ‘snappers’, and sparklers. The state fire marshal maintains a list, updated annually, of approved consumer fireworks.
 

Specifically prohibited Handheld fireworks, bottle rockets, firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, chasers, buzz bombs, helicopters, missiles, pinwheels, planes.

Illinois Fireworks Laws

INDIANA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks that comply with the construction, chemical composition, and labeling regulations of the U.S. Consumer Products Commission.

 

Location for use

A special discharge location, property of the person, or property of a person who has provided permission.

Time limitations

May be used only between 9am and 11pm on days other than holidays. On holidays (which includes Memorial Day, July 4th, and New Year’s Eve) fireworks may be used from 9am until midnight. Local authorities may further limit permissible use.

Public Safety Fee

State law imposes a fee based on retail income.

 

Age to purchase

18 years of age

Indiana Fireworks Laws

IOWA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted First-class consumer fireworks (aerial shell kits and reloadable tubes; chasers; helicopter and aerial spinners; firecrackers; mine and shell devices; missile-type rockets; roman candles; sky rockets and bottle rockets; multiple tube devices manufactured in accordance with APA 87-1, section 3.5) and second-class consumer fireworks (cone fountains; cylindrical fountains; flitter sparklers; grand and hand-held sparkling devices, including multiple tube ground and hand held sparking devices that are manufactured in accordance with APA 87-1, section 3.5; ground spinners; illuminating torches; toy smoke devices that are not classified as novelties pursuant to APA 87-1, section 3.2; wheels and wire or dipped sparklers that are not classified as novelties pursuant to APA 87-1, section 3.2).

Specifically prohibited None are specifically prohibited.

Iowa Fireworks Laws

KANSAS

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted

All pyrotechnic devices classified as consumer fireworks by DOT, except certain rockets.

 

Specifically prohibited

Any rockets mounted on a wire or stick, including any device containing such rockets.

 

Selling period

June 27-July 5 (including delivery of mail-order fireworks)

Kansas Fireworks Laws

KENTUCKY

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks that comply with the construction, chemical composition, & labeling regulations of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission including aerial devices including rockets & bottle rockets, helicopters, & aerial spinners, roman candles, mines. Ground and hand-held sparkling devices (dipped stick or wire sparklers), cylindrical and cone fountain, illuminating torch, wheel, ground spinner, glitter sparkler,) smoke, novelties, and trick noisemakers, & audible ground devices

 

Registration

Entities that want to sell consumer fireworks must register annually with the State Fire Marshal. The registration fee for a permanent retailer (year round) is $500. The registration fee for a seasonal retailers (retail sales from June 10 – July 7th & December 26th – January 4th) is $250. Seasonal retailer registration forms must be received at least 15 days prior to offering consumer fireworks for sale. (Late registration may be permitted if a $100 fee is paid.)

 

Age of purchase 18 years

Kentucky Fireworks Laws

LOUISIANA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks as defined by DOT and the CPSC. (This includes: cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, pyrotechnic wheel devices, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, toy smoke devices, sky rockets and bottle rockets, missile- type rockets, helicopter aerial spinners, roman candles, mines or shells, firecrackers, and multiple tube fireworks.

 

Specifically prohibited Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, 2” American-made salutes, firecrackers with casings exceeding 1½”in length or ¼” in diameter, repeating bombs, aerial bombs, torpedoes exceeding 3/8” in diameter, roman candles larger than 10 ball, and sky rockets with a casing of less than 5/8” in diameter and less than 2 7/8” in length, with an overall length of 15”.

 

Selling Period Noon June 16 through midnight July 5, and noon December 15 through midnight January 1.

 

Age of purchase 15 years

Louisiana Fireworks Laws

MAINE

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks items tested & certified by a 3rd party laboratory as conforming with CPSC standards. Specifically prohibited Missile type rockets, helicopters, aerial spinners, sky rockets, and bottle rockets, as defined by the State Fire Marshal.

 

Age of Purchase

21 years


 

Permissible use limitations

Use permitted every day from 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m., except on July 4th, December 31st, and the weekends immediately before and after July 4th and December 31st. On those dates, consumer firework use is permitted from 9:00 a.m. until 12:30 a.m. the next day. Consumer fireworks may only be used on the property of the property of the person using the fireworks or a person consenting to such use.

Maine Fireworks Laws

MARYLAND

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Sparklers containing no chlorates or perchlorates, ground based sparkling devices that are non-aerial non-explosive, and are labeled in accordance with the requirements of CPSC. Paper wrapped snappers containing less than 3/100 grains of explosive composition, and snakes that contain no mercury and are not regulated by DOT. Note: retailers must submit products for testing and approval to State Fire Marshal’s Office prior to sale.


 

Specifically prohibited

All others

Maryland Fireworks Laws

MASSACHUSETTS

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted None

Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, flares, candles, bombs, sparklers, wheels, colored fire, fountains, mines, and serpents.

Massachusets Fireworks Laws

MICHIGAN

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted All consumer fireworks meeting CPSC criteria as defined in APA Std. 87-1 sections 3.1.2, 3.1.3 and 3.5 and ground & handheld sparkling devices

 

Age to purchase

18 years of age. (Also the purchaser cannot be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.)
 

Use restrictions Cannot be used on public or private property unless express permission is obtained.

Use only permitted as follows:

All day Dec. 31 to 1:00 am on Jan. 1

Sat. & Sun. before Memorial Day until 11:45pm

June 26 – July 4 until 11:45pm

July 5 until11:45pm only if that day is Sat. or Sun.

Sat. & Sun. before Labor Day until 11:45pm

Michigan Fireworks Laws

MINNESOTA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Wire or wood sparklers of not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item. Ground-based sparkling devices which are non-explosive and non-aerial, and contain 75 grams or less of chemical mixture per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tube items and include: fountains, cones, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, flash / strobes, and novelty devices including snakes, glow worms, trick noisemakers, party poppers, and snappers.

 

Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, missiles, skyrockets, bottle rockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, mines and shells, chasers, and parachutes.

 

Age to purchase 18 years

Minnesota Fireworks Laws

MISSISSIPPI

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks as defined by the CPSC containing 2 grams or less of explosive composition, including cone fountains, small Chinese crackers, small non-explosive Roman candles, and rockets. Nonexplosive sparklers are permitted.

 

Selling period June 15-July 5 and December 5-January 2

 

Age of purchase 12 years

Mississippi Fireworks Laws

MISSOURI

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer Fireworks in compliance with the regulations of the CPSC.

Specifically prohibited Ground salutes that exceed DOT limits.

Selling period June 20—July 10 and December 20—January 2

Age of purchase 14 years of age unless accompanied by parent or guardian.

Age to sell 16 years of age unless supervised by an adult

Missouri Fireworks Laws

MONTANA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Items meeting the CPSC requirements, except for items specifically prohibited (see below).

Mail orders prohibited.
 

Specifically prohibited

Skyrockets, roman candles, bottle rockets.

 

Selling period

June 24-July 5 and December 29-December 31.


Sale

Salesperson’s minimum age: 18 years.

Montana Fireworks Laws

NEBRASKA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Permitted Novelty items, snakes, and sparklers do not require a permit to be sold in Nebraska. Gold and silver sparklers (colored sparklers prohibited) spray fountains, torches, color fire cones, star and comet type aerial shells without explosive charge, lady fingers not to exceed ⅞” in length and ⅛” in diameter, total pyrotechnic composition not to exceed 50 mg. each, color wheels and any other item approved by Fire Marshal. Samples for all fireworks must be submitted to Fire Marshal prior to sale for separate test shoot examination. Permissible fireworks list issued annually in January.


 

Not Permitted

Rockets, unapproved wire sparklers, nighttime parachutes, firecrackers with more than 50mg of explosive composition, and other fireworks deemed unsafe by the State Fire Marshal.


 

Selling period June 25-July 5 and December 28-January 1. Local authorities may limit this period.

Nebraska Fireworks Laws

NEVADA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted

Fireworks designated as consumer fireworks in some areas only.

Specifically prohibited

Dangerous fireworks, including large firecrackers, aerial displays and items that explode on impact or by friction

Nevada Fireworks Laws

NEW HAMPSHIRE

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically Permitted Consumer fireworks designated as “Permissible Fireworks” which have been approved by the AFSL or other 3rd party testing agency including aerial devices, cakes, roman candles, ground spinner, party popper, snake/glow worm snapper, wheels and sparklers.

 

Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, stick rockets/missiles, and any device that Produces solely smoke.

 

Restrictions Must be at least 21 years of age to purchase & possess fireworks. Must be used on your own property, or with written permission of the landowner. Must comply with all local ordinances.

New Hampshire Fireworks Laws

NEW JERSEY

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Wood stick and wire sparklers with no more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition; other hand-held or ground-based sparkling devices which are non-explosive and non-aerial, which may produce a crackling or whistling effect, and which contain 75 grams or less of pyrotechnic composition per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tubes; snakes, glow worms and smoke devices and trick noisemakers, which include party poppers, snappers and drop pops, each consisting of 25/100 grains or less of explosive mixture.

 

Specifically prohibited All consumer fireworks not specifically permitted including torpedoes, firecrackers, skyrockets, aerial devices and fireworks containing yellow or white phosphorous or mercury.

 

Age to purchase: 16 years of age or older.

New Jersey Fireworks Laws

NEW MEXICO

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

All items that comply with the requirements of the CPSC, except stick-type rockets having a tubeless than ¼” inside diameter. Municipalities may prohibit use of aerial and ground audible devices.

 

Age of purchase

16 years

New Mexico Fireworks Laws

NEW YORK

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Ground-based or hand held sparkling devices including cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, and wood sparklers/dipped sticks; party poppers,

snappers.

 

Specifically prohibited

Aerial consumer fireworks, firecrackers and chasers, skyrockets, roman candles, bombs, and metal wire sparklers.

New York Fireworks Laws

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina Fireworks Laws

NORTH DAKOTA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Star lights, helicopter flyers, cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, sparklers, dipped sticks, comets, shells, soft shell firecrackers not to exceed 1½” in length and ¼” in diameter, total pyrotechnic composition not to exceed 50 mg each.

 

Selling period June 27-July 5 and December 26-January 1.

 

Age of purchase 12 years

North Dakota Fireworks Laws

OHIO

 

Sales to the public permitted Consumers may purchase 1.4G fireworks only from one of the approximately 50 licensed sales locations. Delivery of fireworks must occur at licensed locations as internet sales with direct shipment to consumers in Ohio are prohibited. All fireworks acquired by a consumer must be transported out of state within 48 hours. Discharge of fireworks in Ohio by a consumer is prohibited.

Usage prohibited, with exception of trick and novelty items and sparklers. Exception: trick and novelty items, smoke devices and sparklers may be purchased from any general business location in Ohio and used by consumers in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions.

Ohio Fireworks Laws

OKLAHOMA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted All consumer fireworks meeting the requirements of the CPSC, unless specifically prohibited. Novelties approved by U.S. DOT or deregulated by DOT.

 

Specifically prohibited Skyrockets, including bottle rockets or stick rockets, M-80s, mail order sales of fireworks, and door to door sales.

As of 8/22/13, Aerial Luminaries, commonly known as

Sky Lanterns, Hawaii Lanterns, Knogming Lanterns,

Chinese Lanterns, Sky Candles, Fire Balloons or Flying

Luminaries.

 

Selling period June 15-July 6 & December 15-January 2 (Retail Sales) Year-round by licensed manufacturers, distributors, or wholesalers.

 

Age of purchase At least 12 years of age, unless with an adult.

Oklahoma Fireworks Laws

OREGON

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks obtained from an Oregon permitted retail stand, such as cones, fountains, and wheels.

 

Specifically prohibited Aerial fireworks such as bottle rockets and roman candles. Also, any type of fireworks not obtained from an Oregon permitted retail stand. No internet purchases.

 

Selling period June 23, through July 6.

Sales Retail sales permit issued by State Fire Marshal with local sign-off required authorizes retail sales. Must be at least 18 years of age to sell, at least 16 years old to purchase.

Oregon Fireworks Laws

PENNSYLVANIA

Specifically permitted Consumer fireworks that comply with the construction, chemical composition and labeling requirements of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and comply with the consumer fireworks provisions of APA Standard 87-1.

Consumer Fireworks Retail

 

Sales Requirements

Consumer Fireworks shall be sold only from facilities and temporary structures licensed by the PA Department of Agriculture. $2 million insurance requirement.

 

Sales permitted to individuals 18 years of age and older.

 

Permanent facilities may sell all legal consumer fireworks devices including firecrackers, bottle rockets, and reloadable aerial shell devices. Selling period is year round.

 

Temporary structures may only sell ground and hand held sparkling devices, helicopters/aerial spinners, roman candles, and mine & shell devices not exceeding 500 grams.

Selling period is

June 15 – July 8 and December 21 – January 2

Pennsylvania Fireworks Laws

RHODE ISLAND

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
 

Specifically permitted Hand-held and ground based sparkling devices including fountains, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, sparklers & novelties devices as defined in APA Std. 87-1.

Age to purchase: 16

Specifically prohibited Aerial Consumer, Display Fireworks, and Pyrotechnics Unless permits are obtained.

Rhode Island Fireworks Laws

SOUTH CAROLINA

Specifically permitted

Items meeting requirements of the CPSC except those noted below.


 

Specifically prohibited

Small rockets less than ½” in diameter and 3” long.

 

Sale

Salesperson’s minimum age – 16 years. Covered fused required.

 

Age of Purchase

16 years, unless accompanied by a parent.

 

South Carolina Fireworks Laws

SOUTH DAKOTA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

All fireworks that comply with CPSC regulations.
 

Specifically prohibited

All consumer fireworks made wholly or in part of dynamite, nitroglycerin, or giant powder. Specifically prohibits firecrackers
 

Selling period

June 27-July 5

 

Sale

Retailers must purchase from licensed wholesaler. Sale or use prohibited in Black Hills district or in any national or state forest or park. Sale from any vehicle prohibited. Salesperson’s minimum age 18 years. Special retail license for sales to out of state residents available.

South Dakota Fireworks Laws

TENNESSEE

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Items meeting CPSC requirements.

 

Specifically prohibited

Illegal ground salutes and mail order purchase of fireworks by consumers.

 

Selling period

June 20-July 5 and December 10-January 2.

Sales by year-round retailers permitted. Novelty items do not require a permit

 

Age of Purchase

16 years or 17 with an ID.

Tennessee Fireworks Laws

TEXAS

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

All fireworks meeting requirements of CPSC and DOT Consumer Fireworks definitions, except for small rockets (less than 4 gms propellant, and casings less than 5/8 of an inch x 3 ½,” and overall length including stick of less than 1.8’’.)

 

Specifically prohibited

See section 2154.00 3(d).

 

Selling period

June 24-July 4 and December 20-January 1, May 1- May 55 (limited to further than 100 miles from TexasMexico border).

 

Retail sale

An annual, non-renewable, retail fireworks permit is required for each retail location, $20 fee. Expires January 31 each year. May be purchased from a licensed manufacturer, distributor or jobber.

 

Age of purchase

16 years

Texas Fireworks Laws

UTAH

Permitted

Those fireworks sold at retail for consumer use and those not designated as Class C Dangerous Explosives. Newly allowed in 2011 are aerial devices known as multiple tube, repeater, or cakes lit by a single fuse.

 

Specifically Prohibited

Firecrackers, bottle rockets, missiles, roman candles, skyrockets, rockets mounted on a wire or stick, ground salutes, M-80’s, cherry bombs, aerial salutes, flash shells, comets, mines, single shot or reloadable aerial shells, aerials that contain over 500 grams of pyrotechnic material & other illegal explosives are prohibited.

 

Selling Period

June 1-July 31, December 1-January 5, and 30 days before and up to 5 days after the Chinese New Year

Utah Fireworks Laws

VERMONT

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Sparklers less than 14” long with no more than 20 grams of pyrotechnic mixture. Novelty sparkling items limited to snakes, party poppers, glow worms, smoke devices, string poppers, snappers, or drop pops with no more than 0.25 grains of explosive mixture, and that are in compliance with CPSC regulations.

 

Specifically prohibited

Firecrackers, skyrockets, roman candles, torpedoes, and daygo bombs

Vermont Fireworks Laws

VIRGINIA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Sparklers, fountains, pharaoh’s serpents, pinwheels, and whirligigs.

 

Specifically prohibited

Firecrackers, skyrockets, torpedoes, and other fireworks which explode, travel laterally, rise into the air, or fire projectiles into the air.

Virginia Fireworks Laws

WASHINGTON

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

As defined by DOT not specifically prohibited (see below) unless prohibited by local ordinance. Specifically prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, salutes, chasers, and bottle rockets.

 

Selling period

Noon June 28 to 9 pm July 5 and Noon December 27 to 11pm Dec. 31

 

Discharge period:

Noon June 28 – 11pm July 5 and 6pm December 31 to 1am January 1

 

Sales

State Fire Marshal shall prepare an annual list of permitted items. Sales locations and safety precautions specified in law. Employee’s minimum age 18 years. Sales prohibited to persons under 16 years of age.

Washington Fireworks Laws

WASHINGTON, D.C.

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Toy paper caps containing not more than 0.25 grain of explosive composition per cap, sparklers less than 20”in length, torches, box fire, fountains, cones, dip sticks, non-poisonous snakes, novelties, and colored lights.

 

Specifically prohibited

Firecrackers of any kind of description. Any fireworks that explode, (cherry bombs, salutes, roman candles, floral shells, artillery shells,) or intended to move after the piece is placed and fires (bottle rockets, parachutes, buzz bombs, pinwheels, helicopters, jumping jacks.) Sparklers more than 20” in length that contain dangerous chemicals, or any highly oxidizing agent. Fireworks having a side fuse, or a fuse inserted at any point along the length of the firework, and any firework found by the Fire Chief to be dangerous to the safety of any person or property

Washington DC Fireworks Laws

WEST VIRGINIA

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Sparkling devices (fountains, wire sparklers, trick noisemakers, smoke devices, snakes). Firecrackers, torpedoes, sky rockets, roman candles, bottle rockets, reloadable shells, missile-type Rockets, helicopter and aerial spinners, multi-aerial mine and shell devices, aerial shell kits.

 

Selling Period

Year-round

Sparkling Devices & Novelties: Business registration certificate and a Sparklers and Novelties Registration Certificate are required,

$15 fee.

 

Retail sale

Consumer Fireworks: Business registration certificate, a minimum of $1 million dollars public & product liability insurance, Consumer Fireworks Certificate are required.

Temporary retail sales location fee: $500.00

Permanent retail sales location fee: $1000.00

 

Minimum age to sale, purchase & use 18 years old with a valid I.D.

West Virgina Fireworks Laws

WISCONSIN

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Cylinder fountains, cone fountains, sparklers containing no magnesium, chlorate or perchlorate; snakes containing no mercury, small smoke devices.

 

Specifically prohibited

Firecrackers, wheels, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, aerial salutes, and bombs.

Wisconsin Fireworks Laws

WYOMING

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 

Specifically permitted

Consumer Fireworks meeting requirements of the CPSC.

Specifically prohibited

None

Wyoming Fireworks Laws